I Am Down-to-Earth

I asked my friend what is the first trait she thinks of when describing me and her phrase was down-to-earth. When I think of down-to-earth, I think of a person who is very sweet and caring. According to the dictionary definition, down-to-earth means caring, sensible, practical, and realistic. I definitely embrace this character trait because I feel like it is a compliment. I could understand why she would say this about me because I try to be nice to everyone. I really care about all my friends and family. They are all very important to me and I do a lot for them. I don’t mind helping people out because it is doing them a favor and I am always happy to help. It makes me feel good knowing I can make someones life a little easier.

Image result for happy

Another aspect of down-to-earth is sensible, and part of sensible means appreciable. To know that I am appreciated also makes me happy. I further agree with the fact that I am realistic. I am an honest person who tries to help others through a realistic perspective. I feel like I am that person that my friends can talk to if they ever need advice and they know I will give my honest opinion.

Along with being considered down-to-earth comes with traits that I am not. I don’t like being mean to people. When girls or guys are mean to one another it makes me sad because I feel like it is unnecessary. Most of the time when people are rude it is over the dumbest things and obviously if someone is fighting with another person, that puts both of them in a bad mood. I am the person who tries to think of things in positive ways and believes that life is too short to be unhappy. Why hold grudges if there is nothing you can do to change whatever happened? If you waste time being unhappy you can’t get that time back. Because of this, if I am ever in an argumentative situation, I try to approach it passively to avoid further issues. This may contribute to why someone would say I am down-to-earth because even when arguing I try to be as kind as possible.

 

Related image

Leave a comment